Laingsburg, Sciota, Woodhull Emergency Services (LSW)


Woodhull Township is an incorporated unit of the Laingsburg, Sciota, Woodhull Emergency Services Authority. They are highly trained fire fighters and ambulance emergency personnel who serve 24/7 and 365 days per year.  The Inter local agreement serves all of the residents of Laingsburg City, Sciota Township and Woodhull Township.                            

There are two fire stations. LSW Station 1 is located in the City of Laingsburg on Woodbury Road.  LSW Station 2 is located in Shaftsburg at the intersection of Shaftsburg Road and W. Beard Road.                                  

Department Business Office Calls:    (517) 651-2638
Fire Chief: Rick Betts  
Battalion Chief: James Betts  
Captain: Jeffery Peterson  


The Fire Department is looking for volunteers!  if interested, please call:  

James Betts   (517) 651-2638



Burning Permits     

Burning permits may be obtained by calling (517) 651-2638 between 8:30 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. - Monday thru Friday.  Please leave a message on the recorder, someone will get back to you.  PLEASE DO NOT BURN WITHOUT A PERMIT.  Permits are FREE!; burning without one can cost you a fine.